# Delivery Workflow and Status

November 3, 2025

## In this article, you will learn about the delivery status definitions and overall lifecycle of a delivery.

## Delivery Status Summary

A delivery has an associated status that informs where the delivery resides within the delivery management workflow. The delivery status can be found on the **Dashboard page.** Review the below table for delivery status definitions.

|     |     |
| --- | --- |
| **Delivery Status** | **Definition** |
| **_Unassigned_** | Delivery is logged in Dispatch and has not been assigned to a vehicle. |
| **_Assigned_** | Delivery is assigned to a vehicle that has not yet been sent to the driver for pickup |
| **_Pending Pickup_** | Delivery assigned to a route that has been sent to the driver and is awaiting pickup. |
| **_Out for Delivery_** | Delivery is picked up and on a vehicle that is out for delivery today. |
| **_Complete_** | Delivery is made, dropped off and marked as complete. |
| **_Canceled_** | Delivery is canceled in the system. |
| **_Sent to Marketplace_** | Delivery is sent to the Dispatch Marketplace to be picked up and delivered by the Dispatch Network of Drivers. |
| **_Incomplete_** | Delivery was assigned to a manifest that was not completed and has rolled over to the next day. |

## Delivery Lifecycle Workflow

## Delivery Creation

A delivery is added to Dispatch manually via the **New Delivery Form** or automatically through the **[Dispatch API](https://support.dispatchit.com/en/articles/8654602-connect-integration-support)**. New deliveries will automatically become logged in Dispatch with a status of **_Unassigned_** _._

_Please check out the article [Creating and Managing a Delivery](https://support.dispatchit.com/en/articles/8659921-creating-and-managing-a-delivery)_ _for additional detailed steps around creating, editing, and canceling deliveries._

## Delivery Assignment

A delivery will transition to **_Assigned_** once that delivery has been added to a vehicle for delivery.

Removing a delivery from a route will transition the delivery back to the **_Unassigned_** status. Re-assigning a delivery from one vehicle to a different vehicle will keep the delivery in the **_Assigned_** status.

_Please check out the article [Creating and Managing a Route](https://support.dispatchit.com/en/articles/8654611-completing-a-route) for additional detailed steps around assigning, reordering, and removing deliveries from a route._

## Delivery Pickup

A delivery will transition to a status of **_Pending Pickup_** once the route that delivery is assigned to has been sent to the driver. It will remain in **_Pending Pickup_** while the vehicle is loaded until the driver swipes to mark the pickup stop complete. All route details are shared with the driver and the driver will receive a push notification at this step in the process.

After the driver confirms they have picked up the delivery by swiping to complete the pickup stop on the mobile app, the delivery status will be **_Out for Delivery_** as the driver takes off to complete their route.

_Please check out the articles [Sending a Route to a Driver](https://support.dispatchit.com/en/articles/8654471-send-route-to-driver)_ _and [Completing a Pickup](https://support.dispatchit.com/en/articles/8654611-completing-a-route) for additional detailed steps around these processes in the Web App and Mobile App._

## Delivery Completion

After the driver confirms they have successfully completed a delivery by swiping to complete the drop-off stop in the mobile app, the delivery status will be **_Complete_**.

_Please check out the article_ _[Completing a Delivery](https://support.dispatchit.com/completing-a-route)_ _for detailed steps around this process in the Mobile App._

## Delivery Cancellation

A delivery can be canceled at any point during the delivery management process. A canceled delivery will display the delivery status as **_Canceled_**.

_Please check out the article [Cancel a Delivery](https://support.dispatchit.com/en/articles/8654580-cancel-a-delivery)_ _for additional details about canceling deliveries._

## Incomplete Delivery

A delivery that was assigned to a route and picked up but never delivered will be marked as **_Incomplete_**.

**_Incomplete_** deliveries will also show on the Delivery Dashboard so that they can be easily assigned, rescheduled, or canceled.

_Please check out the article [Managing Incomplete Deliveries](https://support.dispatchit.com/en/articles/8654574-managing-incomplete-deliveries) for additional details.
